an attempted explanation

Standard

After Alison’s comment on a post from a couple days ago, I feel the need to offer somewhat of an explanation for some of the changes I’ve made with the move to WordPress.  I hope and pray that everyone will be understanding as I seek to keep certain things a bit more private.  My family is so very important to me, and I want nothing but the best for both Brad and Nate.  I love having all kinds of people from all kinds of places find our family blog, but I also question how much complete strangers need to know about some more personal things.  I would assume most would want the same sense of privacy for their own families.  I also had no desire to have a completely private, invitation only blog.  For one, it’s too much work to do the whole inviting thing.  Secondly, I don’t mind random people enjoying the blog.  As for wondering if I will ever post family pictures on public posts, I haven’t figured that one out yet.  Currently I have given the post password to family only (or at least the family I have emails for).  I still have to figure out how far beyond that to go with the password.  I will definitely be sharing it with friends in the coming weeks, but I haven’t gotten around to it.  Honestly, it will probably be early March before I get around to that though.  If you’re on our Christmas card/letter list and know of the website through that, but you also know I (Brad having it doesn’t count) don’t have your email to send you the password, leave a comment with your email and I will be sure you get it when all the rest of the friends do.  (I’m pretty sure that sentence qualifies as a run-on, sorry Mrs. B!)  We don’t want to lose you as readers!  Again, I hope you are able to read this in such a way that each of you is able to see that I have done this out of love for my family and wanting to keep us a bit safer on the crazy internet.

2 responses »

  1. I read this post because it showed up listed as a possibly similar post to one that I had just made. Not knowing any of the details of your situation, I can still closely relate to what you’ve said here. I’ve chosen the same route — a completely anonymous blog where I can write what I feel, and if someone finds a topic of shared interest in what I have to say, then I welcome them to read.
    Good luck in your relationships!

Leave a Reply

