connected

Standard

I’ve slacked on the blogging in the past week, but I have my reasons.  I’ll attempt to touch on what’s been going on with each of us through several posts.  If I’m lucky I won’t get too uncomfortable and will be able to get them all written today.  I’ll start with Brad and I.

We had decided a couple of months back that before Dos was born, it’d be nice to have a weekend where Nate went to his grandparents.  A weekend to have to be just the two of us before we officially become a family of 4.  This was the weekend, and it was wonderful!!!

Brad had to work Friday which is pretty unusual for him, but he was done by mid afternoon.  We headed to the doctor’s office for the 36 week appointment (more on that is a seperate post).  After some relaxing at home, we headed out for a nice dinner.  I’m not a huge steak person, but the place we went taught me that a good steak is worth the money (if you have a gift card to pay for it!).  Afterwards we headed to a bookstore to wander for a while.  Then it was home to watch some of the opening ceremonies for the olympics. 

Saturday was taken at a very relaxed pace.  It’s amazing how much a child dictates your day.  It was so nice to be able to do things in our own time.  When we would normally have been tied to the house for a 3 hour nap, we headed out to do some shopping, just wandering from place to place.  (Without a stroller to be pushed I must add!!!)  We hit the movie store on our way back to the house and picked up a couple of movies to watch.  We ended up watching 21 after dinner.  (Good movie!)

Sunday is of course a work day for Brad, but ended up being a shorter one than normal for him thanks to a canceled appointment.  After a meal and a nap, we headed back out for more shopping.  It’s was so nice to be able to just pick up and go whenever we wanted.  We had plans to watch another movie that evening, but Nate had other plans for us.  More on that in his post later. . . .

I have to wrap this up though by saying how healthy this weekend was for us.  It hit me so many times how wrapped up I can becoming in fulfilling my “mom” role.  Unfortunately, my role as “wife” usually takes a hit because of it.  We both agreed that we reconnected this weekend as husband and wife rather than parents, and it was wonderful.  I appreciate what a wonderful and loving husband I have, and I never want to take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

