projects aplenty

Standard

We’ve been keeping plenty busy around here lately.  I thought I’d share a glimpse of a few of our recent projects.  (A small part of why I was too busy to blog for a while.)

1.  The quilt I started for Brad on our second anniversary.  We celebrate anniversary number 10 in November.  In my defense though, we’ve added a dog and three munckins to the family since starting this project.  I’m thrilled to be working on it again though.  Still not thrilled that every completed 8″x8″ square is made up of 32 triangles.  What was I thinking????

20120324-180423.jpg

20120324-180642.jpg

2.  The second quilt I ever started.  It’s oh so close to done, but again should have made it easier on myself and not done shooting stars all over the dark blue strips.

20120324-180710.jpg

20120324-180724.jpg

3. Being the lover of sewing that I am, I couldn’t take the simple route and just buy Nate a school spirit shirt.  I pictured in my head what making one would look like.  Yeah, should have again taken the easier route.  Cutting out and sewing on small letters is NOT easy.  I am super excited about the way it turned out considering how difficult it was to make.  Let’s hope all three kids wear this at various times over the years.  (Somehow I don’t have a picture of the completed shirt.)

4.  After much talking about whether we should or shouldn’t, we dug in and started a veggie garden this weekend.  It’s about 170 square feet, and no we don’t know exactly what we plan to grow at this point.  Thank goodness for a husband who is much stronger than I am and endure the bulk of the hard work – although my muscles from head to toe are sore enough to think I did the entire project alone.  We are super thankful and blessed to have friends with pickup trucks that were able to give us a hand – thanks Careys and Zagozdas!!!

20120324-180746.jpg

20120324-180757.jpg

Not that I need another project, but I told Brad I wanted to run to the fabric store tomorrow and see if I get inspired to make Easter dresses for the girls.  We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

